Let’s Go On An Adventure!

Having an office job has opened my eyes to a lot of hard truths about the world and my place in it.  All of these little truths sum up to one thing: I get bored way too easily to do this for the rest of my life.

Being in an office all day in office clothes having office conversations has given me a real bad case of the stir crazies. These feelings of “lemmeoutlemmeoutlemmeout” have given birth to a new life goal: go on some sort of adventure. Every. Single. Day.

They aren’t all going to be exciting. I’m going to push the bounds of what mundane little tasks qualify as adventures. Here’s my extremely loose definition of an adventure: something I’ve never done before. Everyday, I’m going to go out of my way to do something just a little different. Somedays, it’s going to something small, like trying to make a risotto for the first time. Other days, it’s going to be big, like hiking the Trail to the Sun. Either way, I’m sure going to chronicle the hell out of each and every one.

Yesterday, my adventure was extremely small, but it’s going to count. (Because I’m in charge of what counts and what doesn’t.) Yesterday, I did something that I had never done before. I ordered a glass of expensive, fancy pants wine in a restaurant. It. Was. Disgusting. Yesterday I learned that my palette is not yet distinguished enough to appreciate a vintage pinot noir. Yesterday I also learned that wine might be a fun hobby (when I reach a place of disposable income) if I start at the bottom and work my way up. And yesterday I learned that $7 is a pretty reasonable price for an adventure.

Tonight, I’m going on a cooking adventure. I’m going to make Spinach Artichoke dip for an office pot luck tomorrow. From scratch. This is either going to be a masterpiece or a disaster. But either way, it will be an aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaadventure!*

*Cue theme music

~ by crazydiamond07 on June 30, 2010.

2 Responses to “Let’s Go On An Adventure!”

  1. This sounds brilliant. How was the dip?!

    • The dip turned out…strangely. I used cream cheese which broke all sorts of cheese laws by not melting. So there were random pieces of cream cheese in throughout the dip. But overall, it tasted pretty good. The best part was someone asking for the recipe. Definitely gave me some much needed cooking validation. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
